Talk

Advanced search

Rather sad thread but what do I wear to university and do I need a laptop all the time or just some days?

(11 Posts)
Oodlives Sun 31-Aug-14 19:58:46

I'm commuting and have restricted mobility so don't want to carry too much on the train.
Its not a techy course but I'm unsure what the norm is in lectures etc.
Also a shallow one but I'm almost twice as old as most of the students so don't want to look like I'm old/Mumsy and don't want to look like I'm trying to be young.
Usually wear jeans and vest tops, hoodies and my 'smarter' stuff was fat face type tops.

MotherOfInsomniacToddlers Sun 31-Aug-14 20:02:25

Your normal clothes sound absolutely fine. As for laptop, I rarely took mine (preferred paper notes) but some people did. I did graduate 5 years ago though so maybe people use them more now.

Oodlives Sun 31-Aug-14 20:10:21

I'll take it at least once in the welcome week to set up internet etc.

Equimum Wed 03-Sep-14 15:50:26

I'm a postgrad student in my 30s. Dress exactly as you like dressing - you'll see every style going on campus! I usually wear jeans, boots or trainers and either a plain top with scarf or a FatFace type top. Some mature students dress more smartly, others are very scruffy; anything goes.

As for taking your laptop, it depends how you take notes in lectures/ seminars. Although laptops are increasingly used, plenty of people still use paper and pen. If you are planning to study on campus, look and see how easy it is to use university computers. I always go to a computer room to avoid taking my laptop in, as there's always apace were I am. Just remember to back work up in a couple of places so you have access to your work at home.

Finally, good luck. You'll probably find there are a lot more mature students on your course than you expect smile

smashboxmashbox Sun 19-Oct-14 09:22:20