Talk

Advanced search

MOONDOG and other SALTs?

(15 Posts)
acnebride Fri 19-May-06 11:28:47

Hi, any chance of some help?

At the moment I am planning to apply for the MSc in Speech and Lang Therapy at Reading this autumn. I've got the gen about what they want to see etc, but is there anything that you wish you'd studied/read up on before doing the course? I was going to do Human Biology A-level, given that I'm an arts graduate, but am thinking perhaps I don't need to?

thanks

sophynoo Fri 19-May-06 11:34:33

hi im not a SALT yet but am applying to do the BSc in speech and lang at Reading this yr.
i do already have a degree too but as its an English degree i was told they would be more inclined to choose graduates with psychology/science degrees, and with only 12 places on the course (and 300 applicants!!)they said i dont stand much chance!!
do you live close to Reading btw? How many kids would you have to arrange childcare for? good luck with your application!

acnebride Fri 19-May-06 11:56:08

oh help, i was afraid of that!

we're in Oxford so not too far - it's less than 30 mins on the train. only 1 child so far, currently in p/t nannyshare - I'll worry about full time childcare as and when i actually make it on to the course - sounds unlikely! I'm signed up to the general careers and observation SALT sessions they provide locally, and I'm talking about half a day a week voluntary work with a therapist in private practice - tried NHS but they want a minimum of 1 full day per week which would be a lot harder.

did you look at the MSc as well?

sophynoo Fri 19-May-06 14:21:53