Talk

Advanced search

First exam for 15 years!!!

(9 Posts)
happychappy Sat 22-Sep-12 18:57:02

I haven't done one for 15 years and now at the end of my first OU module I now finally have a 4 hour exam (OMG). Had my last tutorial and feeling a bit overwhelmed!!

hugoagogo Sat 22-Sep-12 19:30:29

I did my first exam for fifteen years last year.

I'm sure you will be ok,
Tips:

1, listen to your tutor's advice.

2, treat yourself to a couple of lovely new pens that you can write with comfortably for hours.

3, practice writing long answers out in one go by hand.

What subject are you doing?

Good luck

purple15 Sat 22-Sep-12 21:12:11

Hi
I have got an exam for OU U212 in October, I havent done an exam in 25 years.
Iam feeling overwhelmed. I have been studying for over five years with the OU. I really feel I need to pass this.

hugoagogo Sat 22-Sep-12 21:28:03

Purple if you have been studying that long, then you must have done a fair few EMAs and IME they are worse and it's just the thought of the exam that is intimidating.

purple15 Sat 22-Sep-12 22:00:53

This is my 5th course but first exam. The EMA were no big deal because you have got all your course materials available. The exam is a different story.

No information taken into the exam. Oh no. I really feel I have done so much only to fail at the last hurdle !

gingergran Sun 23-Sep-12 08:21:34

i did the U212 exam this time last year - first exam in nearly 40 years but it was fine.

make sure you read the questions properly. write out short essay plans and don't cross them out because they can contribute towards your marks if you don't complete the essay

attempt all questions - three Ok answers will get you better marks than 2 brilliant ones.

you physically can only write about 1000 words max in the allocated time so as long as you mention the key studies/theories etc and make them relevant to the answer you will be fine. you don't have time to go into too much detail, you don't have time.