Talk

Advanced search

How to write essays

(15 Posts)
BreakOutTheKaraoke Tue 06-Sep-11 13:33:40

Does anyone else find it really hard to write essays? I'm doing a degree with the OU, and finding it really hard to get into essay writing. How do you learn to do this? Are there any websites anywhere that give you sample essays to read? I think it would really help me to read how someone else does it. I hate starting them! I don't find them too bad once I get started, but I HATE introductions! Any tips?

keynesian Tue 06-Sep-11 16:51:37

Make a plan first noting all the themes/points/ideas/quotes you want to include and use that to refine the order you want it to be within the body of the essay. I do this in a spreadsheet which makes it easy to cut and paste, so seeing how your paragraphs link one to another. Also have the essay question in bold at the top of the plan so you keep that in mind at all times.

OU have a book called 'The Good Study Guide' by Andrew Nortledge which has a good basic chapter on basic essay writing.

Plenty on ebay

www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Good-Study-Guide-Andrew-Northedge-/230666651765?pt=Non_Fiction&hash=item35b4cdc875

You don't have to write the introduction at the beginning - one of my tutors recommends writing the introduction from what you have written in the main body of the essay.

carocaro Tue 06-Sep-11 16:53:21

Did they send you the Preparing Assignments booklet? I have just done an OU course and find this hard. But they don't expect you to get it right from the start, the feedback you get is very usefull, the good and bad. Are you on a Introduction To ..... course? I just did DSE141 Introduction to Pschology and am starting in Oct Introduction to Social Sciences.

I bang out a rough structure, do a mind map of points I may want to include, sometimes start writing the conclusion first. What I am trying to say is that I don't start at the beginning if you see what I mean! Kind of pull it all together like a recipe.