No cigs for 3 weeks using 0% nicotine vaping plus NRT

(3 Posts)
DozyDotes Tue 14-Mar-17 13:13:39

I almost can't believe I'm able to say this. I've been smoking for around 30 years and have never been able to successfully quit for any length of time. Vaping seems to have changed everything for me. I'm in Australia so there are no vaping juices available with nicotine. I'm using nicotine gum occasionally but mostly when I feel triggered to have a cig I'm having a quick vape instead.

For whatever reason there are some days where I'll barely vape and other days where I'll barely use the gum. I seem to be okay as long as I know I have access to one or the other. I think it's been separating the habit from the addiction that is working for me. I realise it's still early days but I'm feeling so proud of myself. I never thought I would be able to kick my cig habit but for the first time I'm feeling truly hopeful.

I've even been able to be around smokers without wanting one. I think it helped that I had a puff on my sister's smoke a couple of weeks ago and it tasted so awful that I knew I never wanted to go back.

it's really the most amazingly empowering feeling to be rid of the cigs. Although they've banned nicotine juices here I hope they don't ban vaping all together. It's been life changing for me.

Jins Wed 15-Mar-17 20:41:58

Well done. It's interesting to hear that zero nic vaping works this way.

Australia has taken an approach that's so different from everywhere else. I wonder if it will change. I was watching an American YouTube vlog that talked about the UK being more enlightened about vaping and I realised that the restrictions we will have in May are nothing compared to other parts of the world

DozyDotes Wed 15-Mar-17 23:31:09