Talk

Advanced search

Does anyone want to buddy up or just hold my hand.

(30 Posts)
sugarplumfairy28 Tue 10-Jan-17 08:26:47

I have been smoking for just over 9 years. I hate the morning coughing, I hate how it makes me smell, I hate the having to battle the horrible weather to go and get cigarettes and I absolutely detest that I have given my children something so damaging to copy in their games.

I don't do things when I'm told to, so the nagging from anyone in the family really doesn't help in the slightest. My DH doesn't nag, he doesn't smoke and obviously doesn't like it but he doesn't nag me. This month is, like for many other families, going to be a tight month money wise. It finally struck me that if it weren't for my smoking it wouldn't be this bad. That all the things I want in life, would be so much easier to obtain if I just didn't stand at the window and smoke.

I haven't told DH, I'm starting today, his already gone to work, but from previous conversations we have had, he has said that any money saved first and foremost should be spent on me so that I reap the rewards and can feel the difference. I don't entirely agree with that, but it would mean I can get my nails done or something like that.

I'm not doing patches, Ecigs or vape - I just want this whole habit, this dependence, all of it gone. I want to move on with my life. So I'm just stopping.

So here it goes.

Gooseygoosey12345 Tue 10-Jan-17 09:25:14

I think reward systems work. Book a nail appointment for the end of the week and put the money you would have spent on your cigarettes in a jar to pay for it. You're committing to something then. Good luck, I know it's not easy but well done for taking the first steps!

Grannysmithy Tue 10-Jan-17 09:30:38

Just wanted to wish you the best of luck.

I'm on day 5 now. Smoked for 20 years, around 20 a day I think, although the last 5 years I've been on roll ups so harder to keep track.