Talk

Advanced search

Advice

(11 Posts)
IthinkIamsinking Fri 20-May-16 06:16:43

Could someone recommend a starting point for vaping..... know nothing about it but desperately need to quit smoking.
Has anyone given up in their late 40's having smoked for years?
Feel a bit overwhelmed at the moment

singingstones Fri 20-May-16 06:47:38

My advice would be to go to the GP and get them to prescribe Champix for you - it makes giving up so much easier, it's miraculous!

Ginmakesitallok Fri 20-May-16 07:00:38

Find a reputable shop and go in for advice. I've been vaping for almost 3 years, I was 39 when I stopped, I'd been smoking for over 20 years, 30 a day. Deciding to try vaping is the best decision I've ever made.

Allergictoironing Fri 20-May-16 07:13:39

Seconding Gin - find a really decent local shop and talk to the guys in there.

I am in my 50s and had smoked since my early teens, I was on a good 30 fags a day. I haven't had a cigarette for well over 2 years now.

Singingstones not everyone can use champix or xyban - nobody on anti-depressants should be prescribed them and some people react very badly to them.

magimedi Fri 20-May-16 08:00:27

Agree with finding a decent local shop. They will show you how it all works which is invaluable.

I gave up nearly 4 years ago at the age of 57 having smoked for 40 odd years & I haven't looked back. (I still vape).

My health has improved hugely & I can now exercise properly & have dropped a size in clothing.

Good luck & do come back with any questions you have - none are too silly, we've all been there at the start of vaping.

(First time I refilled my vape I poured it straight through the kit onto the table grin )

BlossomCat Fri 20-May-16 08:12:24

I've been vaping for two months now, I just want into a local shop and chatted to the chaps there. I stopped smoking the next day. I found vaping a good way to stop, and the realisation that I no longer stank of smoke drove me forward