How long does it take to be a happy vaper?

(9 Posts)
SaucyJack Sun 03-May-15 09:30:37

Rather than a frustrated smoker?

Been vaping for three weeks now. I quite like it in and of itself, but it still does feel like joy and wonder is missing from my life.

How long did it take for you lot?

McNo Sun 03-May-15 09:34:16

Hi Saucy, I'm still really new to vaping only started a couple of weeks ago, I liked it straight away, I started with the basic pen but found a liquid I liked vaping more than I enjoyed smoking a cigarette. I think that's why I have stopped so quickly.

I have now upgraded to istick and haven't had a cig since.

Have you found a liquid you really like?

magimedi Sun 03-May-15 10:21:28

It took me 2/3 weeks of 'dual fuelling' & then I switched to vaping & have been happy ever since.

The kick up the arse for me to give up the stinkys was the most awful chest infection so that probably, in a weird way, helped.

Are you using a strong enought nicotine? Most people start on 18ml strength.

And are you vaping lots? Nicotine is absorbed differently from a vape to a fag. You get less nicotine from vaping than from smoking a fag, so you are better off the vape little & often. So think of taking a few puffs every 15 mins or so, rather than a whole fag every hour or so.

Lots of people vape and smoke for ages - I think allergic still had one cig a day for some months. SO what! It's the cigs you haven't smoked that matter.

And I will agree that vaping has hit new heights for me since I got my istick & mini nautilus.

magimedi Sun 03-May-15 10:22:01

PS It will be 3 years this coming October since I last smoked.

PlentyOfPubeGardens Sun 03-May-15 12:18:46

It can take a looong time for some people. DH took a year to lose the last fag. There are other things in fags as well as the nicotine that you are probably missing - in particular MAOI's which act as an antidepressant.