Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Step-mom raising step-kids: Am I the only one out there who has to be the bitch?

(12 Posts)
Moski Sat 09-Aug-08 17:21:23

I am new to Mumsnet, so forgive me if I am reinventing the wheel. I have been raising my two stepsons (blended family) since they were 5 and 9 (now 17 and 20). Their mom is just a voice on the phone to whom the boys feel "they can talk about anything because she won't judge or lecture them." Of course she never has to "get into it" with them because she doesn't wait up past curfew, put the ketchup bottle back in the fridge for the 69,000th time, or tell them they have to do their chores. DH wants to be the good guy all the time. What to do?

beansprout Sat 09-Aug-08 17:27:31

Where is mum? Does she see them?

Moski Sat 09-Aug-08 17:38:40

She lives in Florida and we live in Boulder, Colorado. She has tried to kill herself several times and is pretty messed up. When my DH and I married, she lived across the street and they split custody. Soon after, she dropped the ball and stopped taking care of them. We have had them full time ever since.

beansprout Sat 09-Aug-08 17:39:51

Talk to us. You've been doing this for a long time. What's prompted your post? Do you have any kids of your own? smile

Moski Sat 09-Aug-08 17:49:07

I just found Mumsnet when I typed a Google inquiry in the middle of the night-- "HELP, I hate my teenager!" I read some of the threads that showed up and felt so much better-- not alone. I have a son (16) who suffered a severe traumatic brain injury when he was 10. He is now giving me fits. But the other two have been exhausting as well. So many people in the US talk about how perfect their kids and lives are. Mumsnet is different.

duomonstermum Sat 09-Aug-08 18:27:15

moski, i'm always the villain of the piece. DSD1(16) is finnally emerging from the dark side and we are getting on a lot better but if DH scolds it's all my faulthmm