Talk

Advanced search

How can I best help my DSD1?

(8 Posts)
Rabbitchat Mon 24-Sep-07 10:41:23

I'm quite new to MN but would appreciate some thoughts/advise/opinions.
DSD1(lives with her mum and SD), confided in me yesterday the reasons for her constant bad/disruptive behavior at home just lately.

She is 11(but going on 14!). She HATES her Step-dad, feels her mum has chosen her step-dad over her,gets no time/attention from her mum, younger sister always getting her in trouble (well believable!) and is generally very unhappy at home. This is reflected in her behaviour around others & at school. When she gets into trouble, her mum tells her SD and he then shouts at her and 'clips her round the ear' (or as she put it, 'slaps me round the head'). HELP! I know this needs sorting, but I don't know where to start.

Am planning to tell my DH everyting she told me, tonight. I know he will go balistic, so need to have a plan of how we handle this.
MUST make it clear that the 'hitting' is meant in a parental discipline way, rather than 'child abuse', I do know that, however, I still find it completely unacceptable for ANY type of hitting!

The relationship between DH & Ex is VERY strained/volitile...civil via text for sake of the children and that's it. Doesn't take much b4 things get hugely out of hand.
Any advice?

Hassled Mon 24-Sep-07 10:49:39

What a nightmare. You're right that you need a plan so that rather than go ballistic your DH has some options to consider straight away. Has your DSD said what she would like to happen - i.e. does she want to come and live with you? How would you feel about that - is it a viable option?
While the hitting thing is awful, I do have to say the jealousy of the new SD is very common and without the violence would probably resolve itself.
When you have a moment, remember to congratulate yourself on obviously being a top SM - for DSD to have confided in you like that you must have all the makings of a great relationship.