Talk

Advanced search

I don’t know my role

(13 Posts)
Keys666 Mon 11-May-20 21:00:39

Hi all, apologies I am very new to this and do not know the etiquette. I was after some advice really. I have been with my fiancé for 4 years and he has twin daughters from a previous relationship who are due to turn 16 soon. They are well behaved girls but are far too emotional and far too childish/timid for their age. I thought I would assist in their development and confidence such as suggesting a part time/Saturday job to get some sense of money and the world, to help them more confident in speaking with people and not cry on cue when nervous which is 90% of the time but that back fired with my fiancé as he believes I am forcing them which I certainly am not, mere suggestions. I’m beginning to feel like I cannot be involved in anyway even though my intentions have always been to try and make them be confident because this world at their rate will swallow them up and spit them out.

OP’s posts: |
Aquamarine1029 Mon 11-May-20 21:04:02

I wouldn't marry this man. It will always be you against them, and your partner will always be on his daughter's side.

AnneLovesGilbert Mon 11-May-20 21:06:11

They have two parents who know them best who get to advise and support them with confidence, emotional resilience and job prospects. You clearly look down on them with your judgements about them and I’m sure that comes across to them and their father.

You’re engaged to your fiancé, that’s your role. You’re not these girls parent and it’s really not your place to share your criticisms of their personalities - they’re the products of their upbringing so judge your partner more than them - or to tell them to get jobs.

I’d back off a bit, or a lot. Leave parenting to their parents.

KylieKoKo Mon 11-May-20 23:12:39

How did you suggest it and who to? There's a big difference between having a quiet chat with their dad and making them feel bad about themselves.