Talk

Advanced search

Has anyone actually had counselling/therapy to improve relationship with SC?

(13 Posts)
Rubynoo Tue 23-May-17 21:21:57

Hello,

This is my first time posting and I really feel like I need some advice. I have a SD who is 5, she is a really lovely little girl (she has her faults like all children but is generally a nice child) she stays with us every other weekend. I have always found the ex wife difficult but this is never affected our relationship with my SD. We got on well initially, after I had my son two years ago, I found it a little harder as I felt so consumed by how I felt for him but I still liked her and tried my best to make her feel loved and welcome.

In September last year I suffered a miscarriage and again in March I had another miscarriage at 5 months. Since the first miscarriage I have found it incredibly difficult having her in the house. I find her a constant reminder of his ex wife and I get upset and angry when my husband puts her before my son and I. My husband has tried really hard to make me feel better but understandably wants to see my SD and it causes friction when he realises I don't want her there. I am aware that the problem is me and that this poor girl hasn't done anything to deserve my dislike but I can't seem to get back the feelings I used to have for her. I also don't want her to pick up on my feelings and although I try to hide them, I can't keep up the pretence all the time and kids aren't stupid, she will realise I don't like her being here. I don't want to damage this little girl who doesn't deserve any of this and I feel I should walk away but I also don't want to break up what is otherwise a very happy marriage with my husband and deprive my son of a full time relationship with his dad. I feel like counselling is probably a good idea but I wondered whether anyone has experienced this and whether it did help?

Thank you for reading x

needsahalo Tue 23-May-17 21:52:12