"Fake it to make it", resentful and I need some help...please!

(23 Posts)
Purple83 Sat 04-Mar-17 14:02:11

Hi all,
I'm new to mumsnet but have been reading posts in this forum for a little while now. I'm really hoping for some replies from fellow step parents and not to be torn to shreds (I've read the Boop81 thread and saw how she was scared away!).

Anyway, to get up to speed- I've been with DH for 8 years. I have 1 teenage DD . Shared care with Dad until last year when she decided to live there predominantly (teen issues, butted heads, for another post!). DH has 1 child, my DSS aged 9. He is with us 4 nights per week and all day sat.

I'm having real problems. I'm beginning to really loathe the situation I have got myself in. Please, before anyone says "you knew he had a child when you met" or any of that, I did know obviously but like most of us, we have NO IDEA what step parenting and all it entails is really like until we are well into it. I'm becoming resentful of the time DSS spends here. When I met DH he had much less time time (closer to 1week night and EOW, although it varied). I never imagined we would end up with DSS living with us as much as he does. I know, with hindsight (isn't that a wonderful thing?!) that I should have thought of this much more but I didn't. I actually supported DH to have the time we have now. Mum wasn't so stable, for a time we had DSS all the time, gradually more stable now and hence the current arrangements. DSS needed to be here, I stepped up and did a lot of the care as I worked part-time, it wasn't possible for DH to do so. There was never any question this is what we'd do- we were needed, it's DH son, we did it.