Talk

Advanced search

I don't know what to do anymore

(17 Posts)
desperatenewstepmumof2 Fri 27-Jan-17 18:14:11

Hi all,
I'm new to mums mumsnet so not too sure what to expect. But I need any advice I can get. Im having issues with my step son (8yo) he can be the sweetest boy but then be an absolute nightmare! Iv no kids of my own so it was a bit of a shock anyway when I first moved in but I do absolutely love it as well. The kids don't have any contact with their mum, my boyfriend was a single dad given sole custody by the courts when I met him. The mother was very abusive and when the kids were just 4&5 she kidnapped them taking them away from their dad. Obviously this,as well as the abuse (physical&emotional) has seriously impacted them both but especially the boy. I know he adores me though so I really don't understand! sad I'm getting to the end of my tether now,his behaviour and disrespect is slowly getting worse and I have tried everything! I'm lucky that my partner and in laws are so lovely and very supportive but they sometimes seem to let him get away with things because of what's happened. I love my boyfriend so much and I know that he is the man for me,we are a lovely little family in all other aspects but I don't want to get to the point where the step son and I can't fix things. As awful as it sounds sometimes I really don't like him but then I spend most of the rest of the day either in tears or feeling like I'm doing a terrible job or that I'm being cruel in some way when I'm being so hard on him. Any advice please? Iv broached the subject of counselling for him to my partner but so far it's a no go. Iv tried a 'feeling box' but in one of his tantrums (the 8 yr old not my partner lol) he said it was a stupid idea and refused point blank to do it. Iv tried recently a reward system that if he behaves he can play out every day after school weather permitting but if he's bad then it affects his reward the next day. This worked for a week up until tonigh