Talk

Advanced search

Step daughters - lack of empathy?

(19 Posts)
UrbanYokel93 Tue 10-May-16 13:15:33

Hi Everyone

I am new to Mumsnet and this is my first post. I am married with two step daughters aged 14 and 17. I am pregnant with my first child, and my baby is due 2nd November.

My husband has recently had an operation to remove his cancer (fingers crossed). He told his daughters a few months ago that he had cancer, and we've both been keeping them up to date with his progress.

What is concerning me is the total lack of concern my step daughters have towards their father. When he told them he had cancer, they didn't seem at all bothered. I know they're teenagers, but an "I'm sorry to hear that" or "I hope you get better soon" wouldn't have been too far fetched. I updated them on his progress when he was in hospital, texts ignored. He's been in contact with them since about things they are doing, and how he is doing also. When they can be bothered to reply (not often lol) they reply about the things concerning them but don't ask him how is etc.

I'm not one to moan about my step children, they're really not that bad. This is why I'm careful to say "seems" not to be bothered. What worries me is their apparent lack of empathy. I know teenagers are notoriously self centered and I accept that, but I would have thought your dad having cancer would at least get some sympathy.

Does anyone have teenage children/step children and can you offer advice?

Many thanks.

almostthirty Tue 10-May-16 13:18:05

Maybe hey just don't know what to say. My dad currently has cancer and even as an adult I struggle with how to cope with the situation. Maybe their way of coping is to ignore the situation and hope it goes away.

Lalalelele Tue 10-May-16 13:25:22