Talk

Advanced search

being involved with stepchilds school life

(18 Posts)
scarlets11 Mon 01-Dec-14 12:44:11

Hi everyone,

I am very new to this and looking for advice. I am not technically a step parent but i have ben with the father of the 4 year old girl in question and we live together and own a home together. So whenever my SO has his daughter I am present and we do.most things as a family.

Yesterday we were informed that my step daughter has been teased a few times over the last week or 2 by her school friends about having 2 daddies. (her mother got remarried last year and they have a 4month old baby). We had agreed to take her to the school disco and Christmas fair at her school that is coming up so that we don't miss out on time with her but her step father has shared his concern that this will cause more teasing and worsen the situation.

We don't know whether to take her and hope that it doesn't make things worse and hopefully it will be explained to the children in her class or to not to take her at all and she will then miss out of the disco altogether. We want to be involved in her school life and we complete reading and homework with her during the weekends we have her to try and reduce the compartmentlisation of home with mummy and home with daddy.

My SO is feeling that he is being pushed out more to save the face of her mother and step father rather than for the benefit of his daughter. If he backs down on this then wont the problem still be there and never be tackled or addressed?

Help!!!

Thanks smile

FlossyMoo Mon 01-Dec-14 13:39:53

I don't think blended families are unusual these days so the teasing is surprising. I am sorry she is getting teased though.

I would be supporting DP to continue with the plans already made. It is nice that her step father is showing concern however the way to deal with the teasing is directly with the school NOT to hide her real father away hmm