Talk

Advanced search

Help-I'm new at this and feeling isolated

(4 Posts)
misscatte Sat 18-May-13 11:58:50

Hi everyone,

I've just joined mumsnet, as I need some support and advice. I've been in a wonderful relationship for over a year, and my boyfriend and I have previously been friends for 6 years. He has a 3 year old son, who I am involved with, and spend time with on a regular basis. We both have a good relationship with his ex-partner, who is a great mum. So far, so good.

The problem I'm having is that I feel very isolated about being a step-mum to a 3 year old. Only a couple of my close friends have children, and none of them are in relationships with people who do. Therefore, I haven't really got anyone to speak to about the situation when things get difficult. Also, a lot of the people I do know with children seem to have a negative opinion of me wanting to be involved in the boy's life, as I don't think they can imagine the situation if it was them, or if someone else had a close relationship with their ex and child.

I am happy looking after the boy, and I have grown very close to him. I just sometimes feel like I have no idea what I'm doing, and I'm terrified of ever having a negative influence on him. I don't feel comfortable disciplining him, and sometimes worry that my partner undermines my authority when I do, as he naturally runs to him if he's been told off by me.

Just wondering if anyone has any advice for me on how to grow more comfortable with the difficult bits and be more confident as a step parent? I'd really appreciate it! xx

YouMaySayImADreamer Sat 18-May-13 13:01:10

I was in a really similar situation to you, my dss was 3 when my and my dp got together, i was only 22 and now nearly 6 years on, things are still going strong.