Talk

Advanced search

Newbie- Parent and Step parent South London

(7 Posts)
Mazkin Tue 30-Nov-10 11:02:46

Hi

I'm a newbie and wanted to say Hello.
I have a 16-month old daughter and a 7-year old step daughter. I live between Brixton and Camberwell and would love to hear from anyone in the same situation who lives locally to me.

Best wishes

x

glassbaublescompletelybroken Tue 30-Nov-10 11:42:43

Hi,

Sorry I'm not in your area but just wanted to say hello. Are you a new step-mum or just a MN newbie?

Mazkin Tue 30-Nov-10 11:54:07

Hiya

I'm new to MN. I have been a SP for 3 1/2 years. I had my own daughter 16 months ago. I think the terminology is blended family!!

Are you a step parent?

M

glassbaublescompletelybroken Tue 30-Nov-10 12:16:56

I think the term blended family is optimistic! Yes - I have 2 DSD's - 10 & 7 - they live with us half the time. I also have 4 grown up DC's from my first marriage.

SparkleSoiree Tue 30-Nov-10 12:59:44

Hi Mazkin - welcome!

I am a mum to three and been a stepmum to two for over 5 years.

Blended, step? We don't give it much thought - they all just feel like our family! grin

Mazkin Tue 30-Nov-10 15:57:25

Great to meet you all.
It all sounds so positive!

My partner co parents as it is a joint custody arrangement, therefore we have my SD every other week for a whole week so I see her as much as she sees her own mother. I came into my relationship under 4 years ago and moved in within 6 months after- all very quickly. Although I love her- I don’t seem to have the same feelings for my SD as I do my own daughter- which I find hard to accept at times, feelings of guilt and resentment and sometimes anger, even anxiety and low mood plague me at times. I do try and focus on the positives and the relationship between my daughter and my SD which is really positive as they have a great bond!