Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

HELP

(6 Posts)

MNHQ have commented on this thread.

kazl71 Mon 14-Dec-15 13:18:27

Hi, I am new to this but felt had nowhere else to go for help and advice. I have a son of almost 18 who I am convinced has autism/aspergers. I had this feeling when he was young but his father was dead against having him tested. He always struggled in social situations and would talk randomly about stuff that had no relevance to what was going on at the time. He is very intelligent and was a straight A student until about year 11 when he started to give up. He has no social life, no friends and spends all him time locked in his room on his computer when not at college. Because of doing so well in school i also feel school missed something.

I feel he is getting worse. He fears social situations and when he is out with me the randomness of him is embarrasing. (I feel awful for saying it). If I try to talk to him he gets very defensive and locks himself away. He feels that he is different and people think he is weird. I try to tell him how clever, intelligent he is and how much potential he has but he wont see it. He will be leaving college next year. In this state he has no chance of getting a job.

His father (not at home) shows little interest and from what my son feeds back tells him that is useless and should get off his back side and do more at college/get a job.

Am i right to fear or could it simply be lack of confidence. I fear he will develop depression ( i have suffered in the past). I would like to get him to a doctor but he would never agree.

Any advice/help would be appreciated.
Thank you

IonaMumsnet (MNHQ) Mon 14-Dec-15 15:26:23