Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Do I need a social worker for my asd child?

(12 Posts)
mamadadawahwah Sun 10-Jul-05 14:08:44

Being new to the asd diagnosis thing, I have been advised I need a social worker. Yech. The very thought of someone from social services coming into my home and writing down notes about our family makes me physically ill.

Is it physcially possible to get the help you need for your asd children without the their help??

anniebear Sun 10-Jul-05 20:44:38

I asked about a SW last year and a SW that we knew said "oh no, there is a bit of a stigma to it"

I really didn't care and was shocked that a SW herself would have that opinion. We got told by another person that tht was an outdated veiw.

I don't really think I need one at the moment but it could be different in a year or two, Ellie is only 3.

I would have one, although I have no direct experience as we are still waiting. If in a few more years you decide you could do with one, it will take a long time.

We asked back in October and are still waiting.

We had an initial assessment and she was a lovely lady that came into our home. She came out twice and was very nice and great with the girls.

It may just be that your SW could help you fill out forms. I just thought it may be another form of support for me.

misdee Sun 10-Jul-05 20:46:05

we have a social worker [shrugs]

Jimjams Sun 10-Jul-05 20:46:57

I have one- but it took about a year to organise.

misdee Sun 10-Jul-05 20:48:24

they can help u access more support.

coppertop Sun 10-Jul-05 20:55:05

We have no social worker. Ds2 has a portage worker who is very good at finding out local info for me. A SW can be useful, depending on your circumstances, but it doesn't necessarily follow that having a child with ASD means that you have to get a SW.

Davros Mon 11-Jul-05 09:34:51