Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Ooops, uni being a bit silly!

(6 Posts)
LollipopVioletsExplodingRocket Fri 06-Nov-09 21:14:51

I would post this over in teens, but it seems quite lonely in there so thought I'd get more response here!

Anyway, it seems my uni are being a tad silly at the minute. I'm in my 2nd year of a film production course, and only now am I having a meeting about a "personal evacuation plan" (anyone got experience of these?). So all last year it was OK if I got lost in a smokey building and burned???

I dunno. Then today, I'm doing a risk assessment for my current film, and on there, there's a box to tick if you'll be working with "persons with a disability". So I'm sat in the library, and I suddenly think "Oh, am I supposed to write about myself here?".

Went into the media centre at uni and asked one of the technicians, and YES, I am supposed to, as is everyone whose films I work on.

Again, all of last year, none of us bothered! Well, we did risk assessments but we never put me on them, IYSWIM.

Hmm, gotta love uni sometimes!

lindsaygii Fri 06-Nov-09 22:23:40

Having worked in TV I can tell you that detailed risk assessments are part and parcel of the job. If your disability means that you might have trouble evacuating a building with no lifts working or similar, and there would be a higher than usual risk of evacuation being likely, then I'm afraid you would be included.

Basically, it sounds like they let you off lightly last year, and this year they are getting more realistic.

OTOH, if you feel they are treating your disability as an issue when it isn't, then you must speak out. But think first - risk assessment is about focusing the mind on risks, not about picking on people. It may be that this is quite sensible. I don't know, but I guess you do.

Goblinchild Fri 06-Nov-09 22:37:15