Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Is it worth me applying for this job in autism research?

(15 Posts)
nikos Mon 26-Oct-09 13:12:01

I know there are a few people here who are involved in research. I'm a PhD scientist (environmental science)although have been out of my field for some time now. Am currently working in a finance position.
But have for a long time wanted to get back into research, particularly in autism since ds has been diagnosed. Have read widely round the subject as only a passionate parent can!!! There are a couple of research jobs have come up at our local university.
Is it worth me applying? If there is a lot of competition are they more likely to take someone with a psychology or social science background? Or will my life experience of real autism count for something? Both posts involve quite practical aspects of autism (meeting parents and people with autism).

BobbingForPeachys Mon 26-Oct-09 13:19:19

I would email them Nikos andsee if you can go in for a chat first; even if they then say (and they may well not) that you need a different background, they should be able to advise you on how to fill the gap.

IME as well t gives you the chance to show enthusiasm if you do this.

nikos Mon 26-Oct-09 13:56:18

Do you think they would be willing to see me or would they want to just chat on the phone?

Niecie Mon 26-Oct-09 14:05:13

Your research skills are completely transferable which is a big bonus. Did any of your past research involve working with people rather than in a lab iyswim? That would be useful to draw to their attention.

I would phone up first to make sure you stood some chance of your application being read but I don't see what you have to lose by applying. Make sure you know exactly what research they are doing and know what literature they are basing it on so that you can drop it into the conversation.

nikos Mon 26-Oct-09 14:23:21