Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Any link between Autism and Downs Syndrome

(17 Posts)
daisysue2 Thu 22-Oct-09 22:20:13

Does anyone have both Autism and Downs Syndrome in the family? Just wondering if there are any genetic links. My DD who is adopted has ASD and her birth mother has just had another child with DS. I am wondering if my DD has a genetic condition as I know quite a few are connected. I am requesting that the Paed do genetic testing as she did suggest it a while ago. But just wanted to know if anyone has experience of the two.

mysonben Thu 22-Oct-09 22:27:58

A work acquaintance of DH has a ds who has autism , and they found out through amnio-testing that their second baby had DS.
Can't see how the two could be connected as i'm no expert. Maybe it's pure coincidence???
hmm

thederkinsdame Thu 22-Oct-09 23:33:30

gosh, I don't know. I've never heard of a link, but I believe that ASD and DS both increase if parents are older, so maybe that's why there's a link in some families? Just a wild guess though

Clary Thu 22-Oct-09 23:47:41

Yes I believe autism is more common among children with Down's. Can't recall the figures but it is an issue.

Quote from quick Google: "Autistic spectrum disorder occurs more often in children with Down's syndrome than in other children but less often than in other learning disabled groups. Prevalence may be as high as 5%"

Clary Thu 22-Oct-09 23:48:31

daisysue it's unlikely surely tho that yr DD has DS - I mean you would know by now?

sarah293 Fri 23-Oct-09 08:03:44

Message withdrawn

HairyMaclary Fri 23-Oct-09 09:04:17

i know a family where one son has HFA and the other has downs syndrome and autism. apparently it's not that unusual.

Marne Fri 23-Oct-09 10:27:08

I'm not sure if there is a link but i know a woman who has a Autistic son (16) and a DS son (2).

magso Fri 23-Oct-09 10:47:43