Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Just feeling really glum

(10 Posts)
thinkingaboutdrinking Thu 17-Sep-09 19:41:18

The nursery where my DS 3.7 goes regularly told me 3 moonths ago they thought he was autistic.
I disagreed, but stressed a lot about it so went to GP who gave me appt with paed. Appt was today. I have gone from yes he is through to no he isn;t in the last 3 months numerous times, but either way I now over-analyse every thing he does to try and work out whether he is or isn't and it's driving me mad. I have some experience of ASD children as do many members of my family and we all agree that we don;t think DS has ASD. Difficult - yes sometimes, stubborn - absolutely (like both his parents) shy - yes (like DH) but social/ communication/ eye contact/ imaginary play no problems.
Anyway, paed today I was fully expecting to say, no he's just being awkward. She said that No he isn't autistic but just displays some autistic behaviours. and that these might go away, but might get much worse so he gets DX in future. wtf???
So perhaps its actually aspergers she said. and then gave me a website address that turned out to be wrong.
And also said we need to see a child psychologist, consultant paed and SALT to get DX and that she would start that process for us.
So I am just a bit glum. I don't thing he is, but get really upset that he might be. And am angry with paed, and with DS who of course was very awkward with paed (ie didn't want to sit on the chair at the table and wouldn't say goodbye etc etc ) and just generally depressed at everythig because I thought today would be the day I could say - yes someone medical has confirmed that there is nothing wrong with my son, but instead we have more uncertainty.
And I know in the grand scheme of life that a possible mild aspergers child is very minor but at the moment it seems like so big and I just want to scream at someone.
Sorry this is so long