Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Nanny to help with HFA son

(7 Posts)
milou2 Sat 04-Jul-09 23:29:42

Has anyone on here has any experience of finding an adult to actually help with caring for a HFA child?

I'm realising no one in my family can connect with my son, so for a break or shared responsibility I may need to buy in help.

I have just been searching Special Needs Nanny Agencies and there seem to be a lot of them about.

I am thinking one day a week would take the edge off things for me and would bring ds2 out of himself, particularly if he really got on with the person and felt able to trust and relax with her.

bubblagirl Sun 05-Jul-09 15:10:49

bumping for you i have no experience in this at all but didnt want to leave unanswered

my ds also HFA your not near me at all are you? how old is your ds?

do you have sn group near you they normally have lots of references and advise to give

milou2 Sun 05-Jul-09 15:27:02

Hi bubblagirl, thanks for posting. DS2 is 11. Yes, I have a SN group, I'll get myself in gear and go to the meetup this coming week and ask around.

Last night I was feeling really bad that I just can't do this all by myself. Husband and Mil are coping in their way, and I suppose are trying to help me. It's just that their support brings me down more and more.

All I want is for them to say you are fab, I couldn't do what you are doing, look how well ds2 is doing, don't worry about things, to actually smile at me rather than look all worried and fearful.

Mil actually said yesterday something along the lines of "I get worried sick about ds2, I worry about what sort of life he is going to have". Doesn't exactly fill me with confidence.

mum2fredandpudding Sun 05-Jul-09 15:52:56

hiya. i have a nanny which i hired using gumtree (in london) as cheapest way (to advertise nad i pay cash in hand)and most nannys will look on gumtree even when they are registered with agencies.