Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

My Top 5 tips for dealing with ASD are.....

(22 Posts)
mum2fredandpudding Fri 03-Jul-09 16:18:44

OK. This is a pretty selfish thread. I'm new to it all and don't have anything to give that you probably haven't heard elsewhere. What I really want is YOUR top 5 tips. There is so much wisdom out there, I love the little snippets that pop up here and there. I'm just hoping to find a few more!

My 5 are very much about me:

1. Don't sit around waiting. We spent 6 months liesurely waiting for a dx (lucky to get one, appreciate that!) when there were 1000 doors we could have been knocking on, 1000 books we could have been reading, 1000 ideas we could have been implmenting without the formal dx. The fact that a man in a white jacket may or may not decide that your kid is ASD is a bit irrelevant - in that if you have concerns that your kid has ASD traits, chances are some of the ideas and the therapies WILL benefit your child regardless of dx.*

2. Where they are on (or off) the spectrum is not a big issue to work yourself up over. The have problems but they have so much potential. Just get on with it.

3. Become the most fun version of yourself you can dream up. In the month since dx and teh arrival of 'Silly mummy' DS1 has come in leaps and bounds in seeking me out, wanting to engage. Its lovely [swoon emotion]

4.If your kid won't stop playing in the toilet bowel, put a lock on the door.

5. If you need help/advice/support type, I recommend the SN page of mumsnet. Some lovely ladies on there grin

*granted some of these therapies do require a dx to get access, but my point is that it is now obvious to us how much we could have been doing ourselves whilst we were waiting.

ps. almost 5pm on a friday evening. time for the first glass of wine i think.

silverfrog Fri 03-Jul-09 16:26:29

posting quickly, as have to go and do tea, so will just put my top tip: