Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

ds1 (4) query ASD - 2 weeks happiness and peace and now the biting has started again- why why why

(8 Posts)
SunisShinin Wed 17-Jun-09 19:06:44

I just wish I knew what causes his underlying stress levels to rise. I know they have. Every day he is gradually more and more hyper, his temper is shorter and then we end up with a day like today where anything can set him off and he bites me, his brother, himself. Everything has been going so well at home, school says he's doing great and they don't think he's ASD at all. But right now he's running round the roomlike he's just drunk 8 cans of Red Bull babbling away not even real . Why, why, why.

bubblagirl Wed 17-Jun-09 19:16:50

it sounds sensory could you try trampoline or some time out in garden doing something i'm not an expert but my ds bites himself in sensory overload when he needs time out the trampoline was great we had one in his room so he can watch fave dvd and bounce out his frustrations

we dont make nim join us when he gets home we allow him so him time in his room to get over his day an dhe will come out when his ready sometimes not at all sometimes by tea time

ive been reassured its ok if he wants to be alone don't force him to join in when his ready he will

bubblagirl Wed 17-Jun-09 19:17:43

sorry for typos i have had few beers grin lol

LoveBuckets Wed 17-Jun-09 20:38:25

I've read on here that regression in behaviours often proceeds a bit of illness in some kids - might he be coming down with something?

bubblagirl Thu 18-Jun-09 08:50:50

i will second the illness thing with regressive behaviour so maybe just keep an eye that no colds, hayfever etc are coming

coppertop Thu 18-Jun-09 13:15:54

Is he tired at all? My ds turns into Hyper-Boy if he's been waking up in the night more often than usual. The lighter mornings don't help either.