Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Please could I ask what would you hope for, as a parent, from a teaching assistant working with students who have physical disabilities

(6 Posts)
Notquitegrownup Mon 01-Jun-09 13:16:21

Just applying for a job, which I am quite excited about. It is for a TA in our local secondary school, "with a particular interest in working with student who have a physical disability" up to A level.

I used to be a secondary teacher, but took a break to do something else and to start a family. I was hoping to return as a T.A. but am now wanting to ask your advice about this additional side of the job, which would be a whole new area for me.

I've called the school and they aren't specifying the nature of the physical disability, so I can't be specific. In my application I have emphasised that I would be happy to undertake training. As a person, I am genuinely interested in equal rights and would welcome the chance to work alongside someone to enable them to achieve their potential. As a former PA (my second career) I've been used to thinking and planning ahead in order to make things happen. As a parent, I would be comfortable to offer a degree of physical support, thinking for example of toileting, if necessary.

Please could I touch base with you to ask if there is anything else that you think is important in this admittedly very broad area and whether you think I am on the right lines here?

sarah293 Mon 01-Jun-09 15:13:32

Message withdrawn

Notquitegrownup Mon 01-Jun-09 16:39:21

Thanks so much Riven. I will look again at that wording. I do have the idea of enabler in mind, but can see how that might be undermined, by trying to sound too keen in job application speak.

brandy77 Mon 01-Jun-09 17:29:06