Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

What can I cook for my ds?

(19 Posts)
macwoozy Wed 02-Mar-05 16:10:40

I was going to post this on the food topic, but then I thought that as a lot of you are parents wilth autistic children you might be better to help.
My ds over time has got worse with his fussiness over food. He refuses to eat breakfast and the past week or so, he's not even touching his packed lunch, how he goes right through the day without a morsel of food is of great concern for me, and dinnertime is also a battlefield. Any ideas on any types of food that i can offer him? He won't eat foods with any "bits" in it, so pizza etc is out of the question. Any discolouration of foods is also a no go area, so basically that counts out a lot of foods that are cooked like fish fingers, burgers etc. He finds so called spots all the time. He'll eat pasta as long as it hasn't any sauces. I am a useless cook so I have no ideas, and would appreciate to hear what you cook for your kiddies.

Newbarnsleygirl Wed 02-Mar-05 16:29:51

My dd isn't autistic but I do have an idea for you.

When shes not well or having a funny eating phase I always make her soup. I cook a roast dinner for me and dh and everything just gets liquidised.

That way I know shes getting the goodness she needs, theres no bits in for her to spit out and she can drink it from a cup if she wants.

macwoozy Wed 02-Mar-05 16:42:23

Thanks for the idea, I only wish he would attempt to eat this, but he turns his nose up to soup. Thanks anyway

Newbarnsleygirl Wed 02-Mar-05 16:46:18

My dh works in a respite centre for children with autism and he's always telling me what meals they've had. He's just flippin gone out or I would have asked him for some ideas. If he comes back soon I'll ask. Sorry I can't be of any help.

nnosam Wed 02-Mar-05 16:46:46