Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Sensory Integration - Does anyone know anything about it?

(15 Posts)
mumgoingcrazy Thu 25-Sep-08 20:47:23

Hello, I'm quite new to mumsnet so I'm not sure if I should have started a new thread on this as it's sort of carried on from another I started but, does anyone know about Sensory Integration.

Another mn has suggested the book 'Sensory Integration and the Child', but wanted to know if anyone had any other tips.

DD2 (15mo) is tactile defensive and her reluctance to touch or be touched has seriously hindered her motor skills and has a dx of GDD. Her lack of motor skills has affected her cognitive and self help. The only thing she is ok on is language (at the last assessment, however still not saying anything). I'd be really interested to hear anyones views on this. What it is, how it helps, parental tips.

DD2 currently receives weekly Physio, OT, SALT and Portage.

iwearflairs Thu 25-Sep-08 21:28:49

My DS has Sensory Integration Therapy via his London-based OT. He is undergoing assessment at the moment but probably has AS/HFA. He has been receiving it for about a year now and it has helped him a good deal. He is slightly tactile defensive, has delayed motor skills, oral motor issues and motor planning issues - his sensory processing is a bit out of whack generally.