Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Makaton Courses

(10 Posts)
HayleyK Thu 11-Sep-08 17:58:11

Does anyone know where I can do a makaton course around central or NW London. The Kids London one costs £200 per person which seems outrageously expensive given that they are a charity. I have been told my little boy has oral dispraxia and he's responding really well to signing, so I want to go with a few members of my family to learn it.

nuru Thu 11-Sep-08 20:47:27

if you go on to the Makaton website (google Makaton) you should be able to find local tutors who are officially recognised by Makaton. Local FE colleges sometimes run courses and your local SALT dept may run introductory sessions.
Alternatively Makaton runs a home learning course with CDs etc, but think that may be pretty pricy (altho you could probably use one set between your family).

TomH Thu 18-Sep-08 09:44:16

Hello HayleyK!

I'm a Makaton Regional Tutor and I'd be happy to train you and your family - I think it's fantastic that your family are all learning together, great idea!

nuru has also given you some good advice, but feel free to contact me if you don't have any joy with the Makaton website!

I'm new to this site, but I think if you click on my name, you should get my work e-mail address....

Good luck whatever you decide!

HayleyK Mon 22-Sep-08 09:24:47

Have sent a CAT as definitely interested. Thanks

jimjamshaslefttheyurt Mon 22-Sep-08 10:03:44

Oh TomH- I would like more Makaton training as well, although I'm in the south west. Do you have your own website?

Could you email me on nezumi35 at googlemail dot com?

Arabica Mon 22-Sep-08 12:35:29

Hi HayleyK, you should get free training if your child is receiving speech and language therapy--I did. They'd have trained DH too but he is getting training at work (he is a teacher).

HayleyK Mon 22-Sep-08 13:15:07