Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

sports classes for children with special needs

(20 Posts)
ellaandmoo Wed 20-Aug-08 18:47:41

Hello,
I'm wondering if you can help me? I run a successful sports coaching business for children aged two-eight year olds. As part of this we run specific classes for preschool children which is very popular.

I am really interested in setting up a class for children aged 3-5 with learning disabilities. I am a registered nurse who has previously worked with children with special needs at a Dublin school. I am also a Mum myself to 2 preschoolers.

What i would really like to know from all of you parents is whether you have taken your children to activities such as sports or dance that are just for children with learning disabilities and if so has your child enjoyed them, would you rather take your child to a group that only caters for children with learning disabilities.
If you attended a class, how did you hear about it. I'm really trying to just get an idea what would be best, we have had a little interest already which has been very positive but i'm finding it difficult to find a specific area to speak to Mums and Dads and also to advertise which i usually do at playgroups and nurserys. If anyone would like to know a more about what we do our website is www.playballyorkshire.co.uk We are a franchise and there are Playballs all over the country you can follow the link to find a class in your area or contact me abd i'll do my best to find you one, Thanks for your time, Emma

TotalChaos Wed 20-Aug-08 18:56:36

I've never been to this sort of class, would be very interested in taking my DS (4.5) to this sort of class, as he has language delay, and I would like the class staff to be patient with any problems with him complying with instructions etc due to his language difficulties, and would be concerned this would not always be the case at a more mainstream sports class.