Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

First appointment with CAHMS on Friday - am so nervous. Any advice please?

(49 Posts)
SIBLINGRIVALRY Wed 30-Jul-08 22:05:22

Hi,

I am pretty new on MN and haven't posted on SN before. However, I have spent the last month browsing the threads - particularly those related to ASD and AS. I have found them to be invaluable ATM as I have no experience of SN myself.

Basically, my dd1 is 7 and has always been what I would kindly describe as 'eccentric' with loads of quirky behaviour, fears and anxieties. However, about 4 months ago the quirky behaviour became more frequent,she started to have lots more tantrums and generally has become really hard to deal with.

School referred her to CAHMS (appointment Friday). I have only just started talking to people about my concerns. Previously, I tended to keep it to myself as I could see that people found her a bit odd at times and just didn't feel that they would understand. By 'people' I mean friends, PIL,and other mums.

The thing is, since I have spoken to dd's teacher and a couple of others -OT, paed nurse- the autistic spectrum keeps being mentioned. I am trying to keep an open mind, but the more I research it, the more things seem to click into place.

I feel so lonely and isolated and dh isn't giving me much support, so would appreciate some advice from any of you experienced mums.

If I give you an overview of her behaviour, would you give me your opinions please?. I know that you can't tell me anything for certain, but I just feel desperate to talk to anyone who has gone through this process. Thankyou in advance.

Here are a few of dd's 'quirks'. There are many,many more! :

She runs in circles , shaking her hands and talking or singing to herself.

She can't bear any tags in her clothes and makes me cut them out.

Eye contact with anyone but me,dh and her sister is very hit and miss.