Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Anybody With A Premature BabeThat Is About To Start Or Already In School-Panicking! - Need Some Reassurance Please!

(5 Posts)
MissiMoo Tue 04-Sep-07 23:25:44

Hello there smile I am new to mumsnet - hope that some of you may be able to give me some reassurance! This is the very short version (the long version would have me here all night! Here goes...My Ds was born at 26 weeks weighing a pound! He was so terribly ill and ventilated on and off for first 4 months of life and had 3 Major ops and various other complications NEC (necrotizingenterocolitis-think that is how its spelt bit it is l8!) being the worst op with a temp colostomy and reversal after 6 weeks - home on oxygen after 6 months for a futher 3 months and not looked back since (thank god) health wise but now all the development issues have kicked in and it is worrying me sick. He met most of the initial milestones quite quickly but has always been behind with his speech and has issues with his fine and gross motor skills. Been seeing a SALT and OT and is making progress slowly. Cons has DX him with SLD and possible dypraxia and GDD. She is fab and i do trust her judgement but I am totally paranoid that there is more to it - he has some autistic tendancies - he loves to watch wheels spinning and anything spinning and loves door handles and buttons etc - doe this mean he could be autistic or am I being over the top? His cons is convinced that it is purely a catch up game and is confident that it will come given time and I on the other hand are petrified that shes missing somehting - AAARRRRGGGGHHH! I know I am mking it worse by reading too much on the net probably but I don't know what else to do - my intuition is telling me that he needs time to catch up but there is that small doubt in the back of my mind that he IS dyspraxic and or autistic. Ok pause for breath!! I battled hard for a year