Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Phenergan?

(12 Posts)
mymatemax Sun 08-Jul-07 20:58:17

The GP has given phenergan for ds2, I know its an old, tried & tested medicine but i try to avoid giving him anything other than the essentials so I have never used it before.
Could anyone tell me please;
a. Does it work?
b. Are there any side effects?

Thanks Max.

anniebear Sun 08-Jul-07 21:07:27

My little girl didnt have any side effects, But I think it can sometimes make you feel a bit groggy in the morning

we are never sure if it did with her or not, she was usually a nark anyway lol

sorry, but it only worked for 2 nights for her

was two nights of bliss though! she slept till 6am!!! But the third night didnt have the same effect (the body gets used to it)

we did find though that when she woke in the night she came in our bed and did go back off to sleep quicker than normal

We got it on repeat prescription, it is hard to get it from the chemist unless you tell them it is for your childs travel sickness!

Hope that helps

mymatemax Sun 08-Jul-07 21:17:42

Thanks anniebear
He's had his first dose, loved the taste but is still bouncing about at the moment.
He is very dopey during the day anyway & I don't want to make that any worse.. its more for our benefit than his so i'll see how it goes.
Just one good nights sleep would be great, he used to be such a good sleeper but times have changed.

anniebear Sun 08-Jul-07 21:22:53

Its awful isnt it

We were so excited as we had 2 nights sleep and thought this is it!!!!

we could ahve had a party to celebrate lol

Just wish some one had told me the body can get used to it!!!

Yoiu never know, it might work for longer your DS

Hope so, let me know tomorrow if you got any extra sleep

Have you tried Melatonin?

Its meant to have some efect in 80% of children

Needless to say our DD was one of the 20%!!!!!

mymatemax Sun 08-Jul-07 21:33:45