Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Please help me deal with DD's house trashing meltdowns.

(10 Posts)
megletthesecond Wed 19-Apr-17 09:45:33

I'm not very good at this sad. When 8yr old DD starts throwing things around (plants, water, paperwork etc) or tipping furniture over I still feel like I have to tell her off. And there isn't any point, telling her off didn't work the first 100 times so it's not going to work now is it <<sigh>>.

She has no diagnosis (the paed blamed me 3 years ago and said I need to be stricter).

Is the best way to deal with it to just pick her up and make her sit somewhere, even if its a battle and I have to hold her? Her brother is good at clearing up the mess, she will not do it, but I feel like I should be dealing with that too. It's like we have to clear up the mess before she will calm down.

PolterGoose Wed 19-Apr-17 20:04:18

Do you know why she's meeting down? The first step is always prevention, so think about what causes it (and it might not be the thing immediately before, it could be a cumulative thing and final straw) and what signs there are before she melts down. Incorporate lots of calming activities into daily life, build in lots of easy low demand time as standard.

Once a meltdown starts it's really a case of calmly riding it out, keeping her safe but not increasing demands. Once it starts it better it just happens as they can be cathartic. It's worth agreeing in advance what you'll be asking her to do, e.g. having a calming activity to offer (I always ask ds if he wants to go on the swing as that's his thing) and a room where she can do least damage.

Initially I had to make myself appear calm when ds had a meltdown, but over time it just got easier, and while I don't always stay calm (and sometimes a firm response does seem to jolt him out of it but it's a fine balance!) it's a lot easier on me when I do.

taratill Wed 19-Apr-17 20:14:29