Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Tourette's in children

(11 Posts)
Kevr200 Mon 02-Nov-15 19:46:39

Hi all, I am new to mumsnet (well an oldie returned) .
I have 4 children I Dd aged 19 3 DS aged 11, 8, and 5.
My 11 year old is ASD with ADHD.
He has a tic where he grunts from deep in his throat which he claims to have no idea he is doing it.
But over last few weeks has started swearing but claiming he didn't say anything when questioned. He is saying oh sh*t and oh f**k .
I have spoken to school for them to keep an eye out as in my eyes if he starts saying it there he has no control.
Tonight during dinner he said it a few times. So I said there you go Son you just said something.his reply was mum I didn't say anything!
Then he proceeded with." My friend told me off in science today mum for swearing but I never said anything"
I then phoned up his friends mum to explain and k to speak to him. I asked him if my DS swears in school he said yes recently he has started to say oh f and oh s. And when he says it he jumps a little in his chair.
We have just received his prescription for his ADHD meds to try and calm his temper.
I am now wondering what to do do I go to the doctors or wait for the school to back me up! I have today spoken to them and asked to listen out for him as was unsure if he is just trying his luck or if he really can't help it.

Any advice please

TIA

zzzzz Mon 02-Nov-15 20:13:08

I wasn't aware people with Tourette's Syndrome didn't hear themselves. In fact I'm pretty sure they do.

PolterGoose Mon 02-Nov-15 20:51:55

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Kevr200 Mon 02-Nov-15 21:02:05

Thank you.. This is what's making me think it was the paediatric doctor we see for ASD and ADHD that mentioned possible Tourette's ..
I have no idea what it is but this is the most common that comes up in searches.. Maybe correct question would be