Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

New here :) Is this a sign of an Autistic symptom?

(9 Posts)
reformer29 Sun 16-Aug-15 22:49:36

Hi everyone,

I'm new here.

I have DS who is 4 and a half.

I suspect DS has autism, but the thing is, he has been assessed for autism 3 times and it all comes back that no he doesn't have it. He does have a diagnosis of speech and language disorder and dyspraxia.

DS does this thing that makes me wonder if he actually does have autism. Ok, when we are out and about, if someone is walking behind DS (which DS cannot see), DS does not move out of the way, he doesn't do this on purpose though, so I always have to move DS out of the way so that people can get pass.

But he does move out of the way if someone is in front of them (as he can see them of course).

Is this due to autism?

Also, concerning dyspraxia, I am very new to this diagnosis as DS just received this. His Dyspraxia ain't severe, but looking at a closer inspection of his walking, it's like his walking on air, his overall balance is off, I was wondering if this too was common with children in Dyspraxia and if any of you parents have suggestions on how I could help DS.

zzzzz Mon 17-Aug-15 07:42:12

I would have his hearing checked

TheGreatSnafu Mon 17-Aug-15 14:15:29

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

orangepudding Mon 17-Aug-15 15:11:32

Not moving out of the way does sound like a dyspraxia related issue . People with dyspraxia do often have an unusual gait.
There is a cross over between dyspraxia and ASD so you will find there are some similarities.
I agree with the poster below about looking on the dyspraxia foundation website. I found this book useful www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/185503381X/ref=tmm_pap_used_olp_sr?ie=UTF8&condition=used&qid=1439820614&sr=1-1

AYearofMinorMiracles Mon 17-Aug-15 15:19:17