Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Makaton

(11 Posts)
xmalteserx Thu 04-Dec-14 12:04:43

Hello I am interested in finding out about more about Makaton.

My questions are:

What are your thoughts/experiences of Makaton?
What do you think the advantages/disadvantages of using Makaton are?
Did it help communication and speech development?
Were you worried it would hinder speech development?
Why did you use this over other sign systems and communication aids?

Sorry for all the questions. Any help will be greatly appreciated

PolterGoose Thu 04-Dec-14 12:10:34

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

adrianna22 Thu 04-Dec-14 14:49:09

Looks like for research purposes- if it is, this post needs to clearly state that.

xmalteserx Thu 04-Dec-14 15:24:54

I look after 2 boys with autism and their parents were wondering about whether to start using Makaton.
I am also doing a degree in Special Education and was just interested in what people thought of it in case I chose to do it for my dissertation next year.

Sorry

hazeyjane Thu 04-Dec-14 19:34:15

What are your thoughts/experiences of Makaton? it has enabled my son to communicate.
What do you think the advantages/disadvantages of using Makaton are? the only disadvantage is that it isn't more widespread
Did it help communication and speech development? yes
Were you worried it would hinder speech development? no
Why did you use this over other sign systems and communication aids? it is possible to be used at a very young age, we are now going to use it in conjunction with an AAC device

FunkyBoldRibena Thu 04-Dec-14 19:43:53

It is fantastic easy and has helped lots of my students find their voice.

nancyoliver Fri 05-Dec-14 06:29:18

People fear that using signs will stop a child talking... That is utter rubbish though...

They also think signing is just for deaf children - again - wrong!!!