Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

New to all this - SLD/ASD? what does report mean? SEN? Daphne Keen??

(9 Posts)
AngelicaM Fri 14-Nov-14 11:33:50

This is my first time posting after lurking for a while, so apologies if I do anything wrong. Am desperate for some advice. My very happy, very content, lovely 26 month DS has been giving us cause for concern for some time, mainly with regard to language. He was very poor/non existent verbal comprehension and very few words, some of which we lost at around 18 months. He shows a few 'red flags' for ASD ( poor eye contact, not answering name - all of which are improving all the time) but the private SALT we have had working with him for the last few months and his lovely key worker at nursery both feel that whilst he is showing some major points of concern, it's not ASD. I am not so sure. So, after waiting an age for a pediatrician referral, and finding our the local development paed has gone on long term sick, I made a private appointment with a consultant general paed who is in the same NHS Trust. He has given us a report that says among other stuff:

DS 'is too young to diagnose as having ASD and at this stage should be regarded as having severe language delay and a problem with auditory processing...he would benefit from one to one assistance to keep him on task...He requires intensive speech and language therapy and monitoring both to understand his difficulties and in particular to understand his difficulties with social communication'