Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Behaviour communication support in the home

(15 Posts)
Gemma88 Tue 04-Dec-12 14:18:11

I am a special needs teacher of 12 years who has just quit my job. I have an idea and want to know if people think it would work. I want to set up a company offering behaviour communication support to families. I know there's a recession on out there but I also know the frustrations of trying to get quality support for families.

moondog Tue 04-Dec-12 15:04:14

What do you mean by behaviour communication support?

StarOfLightMcKings3 Tue 04-Dec-12 15:41:44

If it's quality then yes there is a market for it. In fact there appears to be a market for pretty poor quality too given the default state intervention often sets such a low bar.

But I would need to know more about the support before commenting properly. Are you offering professional opinion or an established model/models of intervention?

Ineedpigsinblankets Tue 04-Dec-12 15:41:47

I was wondering that too moon

I have never heard of itconfused

Gemma88 Tue 04-Dec-12 16:58:57

Observation of children with feedback, designing and making communication aids (eg PECS), teaching parents about PECS and makaton. Designing and implementing behaviour plans for home issues. That sort of thing!

Gemma88 Tue 04-Dec-12 17:01:23

I have worked mostly with non verbal autistic children with challenging behaviour and feel I have lots of experience. I have been upset by the support patents get a home and often wished I could get in there and help.

StarOfLightMcKings3 Tue 04-Dec-12 17:02:46

What would the aim of the 'support' be

moondog Tue 04-Dec-12 17:08:33

What do you know about PECS?
Do you have any specific training in the functions of behaviour?
Have you a reputation for doing good work?

squidworth Tue 04-Dec-12 18:22:06