Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Retained ayssemetric tonic neck reflex

(3 Posts)
Verybusymummyof2 Wed 07-Nov-12 09:58:27

Hello, I am quite new to this, starting off on a very uncertain road, my dd was born 3 months early, is now 10 months actual, 7 months corrected and after her very rocky start is falling behind developmentally, particularly in her motor skills. She cannot roll, sit or crawl. CP is at the forefront of my mind, but all her consultants say is it's too early, let's wait and see!! Grrrr!!

I don't want to wait and see. I notice she still has a few reflexes present the most obvious being th ATNR whichafter what I've read might explain her lack of movement. Does anyone have any experience of this and any exercises I can do with her to help inhibit this. I know this may sound quite naive but I am driving myself crazy with this and just want to feel useful.....

X

SallyBear Wed 07-Nov-12 11:07:23

I don't have an experience with this per se, but my DS had torticollis in the muscles in his neck. It affected his right side and he had difficulty turning his head towards his left shoulder. It gave him plagiocephaly by moving the soft skull bone so that his head had a flat "corner" and meant that his ears moved out of alignment! We went for a helmet, but it was such a terrible experience for him that I gave up with it after two weeks. The Torticollis definitely affected his general movement. He hated beng on his tummy as it was uncomfortable for him to raise his head properly. He was slow to sit, crawl, stand and walk. I discovered that it wasn't just the torticollis that was causing him difficulty, one shoulder was slightly higher than the other and he had three vertebrae out of alignment and as well as his pelvis and sacrum. We did physiotherapy, cranial osteopathy and chiropractic treatments to help him.

porridgelover Wed 07-Nov-12 11:47:24