Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Can anyone point me to a commentary on the draft special needs bill written by an expert and reputable lawyer in the field?

(49 Posts)
KarlosKKrinkelbeim Mon 29-Oct-12 21:56:37

I ask because (as a lawyer myself) I have been looking at the draft Bill, as a result of hearing and reading a lot of scare stories, most of which seem to be unfounded as far as I can tell.
For example, rights of appeal will be curtailed; untrue, they are the same as under the current law.
Or that LAs will only be obliged to use "best endeavours" to make the specified provision - as far as I can see they remain obliged to make the provision so this is also untrue.
Now, I'm pretty expereinced when it comes to statutory interpretation, but the level of fuss suggests to me I'm missing something. if there is somethingout there by someone who is a genuine authority I'd like to see it. I know there's plenty of guff written by Guardian/DM journos but as they generally have an axe to grind and wouldn't know how to interpret legislation if their little lives depended on it, I'm not hugely interested in their comment.
Ta!

StarlightMcKenzie Mon 29-Oct-12 22:07:14

Why did you come here to ask?

StarlightMcKenzie Mon 29-Oct-12 22:09:40

Fwiw, imo there's no reputable lawyer in the SEN world.

KarlosKKrinkelbeim Mon 29-Oct-12 22:12:34

Because it seemed a logical place! These changes will potentially affect all of us here, I should think.

StarlightMcKenzie Mon 29-Oct-12 22:14:31

Yes but who are you?

KarlosKKrinkelbeim Mon 29-Oct-12 22:17:07

I'm a very regular poster on MN with a ds with ASD, since you ask.
I'm not asking for access to anyone's privileged legal advice. If there's any credible practitioner or academic comment on these provisions which anyone is aware of in the public domain I'd like to see it. i'm not sure why this request is being treated as suspicious in some way.