Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Deferring Reception Pro's and Con's please

(11 Posts)
spiritsam Wed 19-Oct-11 17:36:04

Ok i am thinking ahead my DD does not start until next Sep and i am just starting out on the Statement process but i had someone mention to me about deferring and it had popped up in my mind . DD has s and l delay , learning disabilities , poss a.d.h.d , autistic traits , significant sensory issues , very challenging behaviour . She is just starting to play and interact with children . Whilst she has made some progress it really hit home today looking at a school and seeing Reception children playing on a pc drawing and their conversations e.t.c . I have to be realistic and think how little she may have come on in a years time . Also she is still in pull ups with loose bowel problems . GDD is current dx but she has deletion of chromosome 22 come up on bloods and am guessing dx will change when see Geneticist on Dec 13th . Sorry for going on x

mishymashy Wed 19-Oct-11 22:47:07

Hiya, we are facing the same sort of concerns for our DS who also starts school next Sept. We have met the school senco already, as DS is linked with the nursery, so they are aware of his needs and will need to reapply for funding.
They have already said that his transition into school can be at his own pace. If he cant cope with full days or the full week, then we can arrange to drop hours as it suits until he is ready. They would prefer it if we didnt defer as he is settling within his peer group for the first time which is a huge relief. The irony of it all is that he might not even get offered a place at this school because its over subscribed so could all be irreleventconfused
Have you spoken to your DDs school to see how flexible they will be? Will it be mainstream? I know how you feel about watching other children chatting, it really does hit home.