Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

how to face an uncertain future

(14 Posts)
golemmings Sun 16-Oct-11 22:34:27

Partly inspired by cup of tea's thread about the gorgeous Bea and by cbeebies' post, how do folk manage uncertainty?

DS is 10 days old and following a difficult birth and fitting he was admitted to the neonata unit at 3 hours old. Diagnosis is mild encephalopathy but we're waiting on an mri scan to confirm the damage that might have been done.

I'm gutted but I have no idea how to deal with the possible implications of what might be wrong with my beautiful boy. DH is managing in his own way - ie he'll ignore it until he has to deal with it. I just keep crying. All our friends have suddenly evaporated, my mum is very ill and I just feel so alone.

How do I move on from here?

JJWMummy Sun 16-Oct-11 22:50:18

Firstly, Congratulations on your beautiful baby boy.

I have no direct experience with encephalopathy, but I do have experience with brain damage, my only advice at this stage would be to take each day as it comes and enjoy every minute of your little man being just that, little, they grow so quickly.

Everyone deals with these things differently and DH will open up when he's internalised everything, no easier for you though I know.

As for friends, there will be those for whom it is just to difficult to approach you, they don't know what to say or how to say it, and unfortunately those who will dissapear, those who are true to you will be there and you will value them immensely.

Don't try to move on just yet, just deal with things as they happen.

Once again Congrats.

shaz298 Sun 16-Oct-11 22:52:26