Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Want to me meet other mums in my position

(17 Posts)
Rosiek87 Sat 24-Sep-11 17:24:47

Hey everyone, well im new to all this so bare with me.

My son was diagnosed with autism in dec 2010. Im still finding it difficult to adjust and haven't got anyone to talk to as there not in the same position.

x

zen1 Sat 24-Sep-11 17:40:42

Hi Rosiek87 and welcome to Mumsnet. You will find lots of friendly people and helpful advice on here, as well as many parents with DC's diagnosed with ASD who will be able to relate to your concerns about adjusting to an autism diagnosis.

How old is your little one? I am just starting down the diagnostic route with my nearly 3 year old and can certainly empathise about not having anyone in real life to talk to about my worries. As you say, people cannot really understand unless they are in the same position.

What is is that you're finding most difficult at the moment?

Rosiek87 Sat 24-Sep-11 17:44:25

He is 4 and we are just going down the route of getting a statement for when he starts next year.

I find all the different proffessionals involved a little to much at times. And very frustraiting because they tell u whats best to do in different situations. I feel very taken over from raising my own son. Finding it difficult to not over welm him with words and instructions and very hard accepting lifes gonna be different from all the other children around us.

zen1 Sat 24-Sep-11 17:58:28

Yes, it is definately hard when you fell the "professionals" are trying to take over. There are lots of people on here who have felt the same. The thing is, he is your son and you are quite at liberty to take or leave what the professionals say to you or even decide whether you want their intervention or not. As much as they think they know best, none of them can know him like you do and you are the best person to decide what is in his best interests.