Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Teaching a 2 yr old with asd, right from wrong

(12 Posts)
MangoMonster Wed 21-Sep-11 19:13:14

this may seem like a silly question... Ds is my only child so I'm not very experienced. Just wondering how to approach teaching him, for example, that it hurts when he gives me things in my face i.e hits me with the remote control or cup when he's just trying to give it to me.

At the moment I tend to ignore it as I'm not sure he would understand what he did wrong... Giving things to me is new to him and good in the sense his communication is coming on.

I'm I being too soft? He's quite delayed. I don't ever tell him off a such, just ignore or distract from undesirable behaviours.

oodlesofdoodles Wed 21-Sep-11 19:39:58

I'm a total novice too Mango, but could you say: 'ow! that hurt mummy when you put the cup in my face. Can you put it in my hand please?' (hold out hand). Giving things to you is good I agree, so when he puts the cup in your hand say 'well done! clever boy!' and give him a kiss.

MangoMonster Wed 21-Sep-11 19:44:20

I agree, thanks. Just not sure he would understand so many words. At the moment 2 words is still too much for him to comprehend. Find it so difficult to translate every thing I want to communicate to him into one or two words. Have tried facial expressions, but he seems to think it's funny rather than I'm in pain.

oodlesofdoodles Wed 21-Sep-11 19:59:23

Yeah, they see through the theatricals don't they? When someone is genuinely upset my ds can show empathy - in his own paricular way. When ds was younger he used to pick and discard all the flowers in the garden. It infuriated me, but he just kept on doing it. Nt dd (dc2) understands when she's earned my displeasure. I the end I gave up on flowers!