Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

First ever IEP! Do I need to add anything?

(7 Posts)
Seepage Sun 04-Sep-11 18:43:33

DD is 13. Got her official Aspergers diagnosis back in June which school have actually responded to. I now have a copy of the IEP to sign and send back tomorrow.

Being a novice I have no idea what if anything I need to add to it. Any ideas?

naughtaless Sun 04-Sep-11 21:45:13

Are you happy with what is written on the IEP. Is there anything else you would like her to have?

IndigoBell Sun 04-Sep-11 21:46:24

You don't need to add anything to it if you're happy with it.

When will it be reviewed? They're normally done twice a year or every term.

If she met all of the targets on her IEP by the review date would you be happy? ie are the targets ambitious enough?

Are the targets quantified enough that you and school would actually agree on the meaning of 'having met them'?

Does the IEP address her top problems?

DoingAMonica Sun 04-Sep-11 21:55:14

Targets? That section is blank! (sorry - this is Seepage in Friends namechange). It is very basic and has bits for teachers with attatched info from their 'Toolkit' - the relevant bits like attention & concentration, self esteme, stress and anxiety etc. Some teaching strategies and Provisions like time out card, TA support and Mentor.

It seems OK to be going on with. I suppose as we get more used to being able to ask for help then things will be added. No review date but tere's boxes fr termly reviews so will ask for one at the end of this term.

IndigoBell Sun 04-Sep-11 22:00:28

If you're happy with it, that's all that matters.

And always remember that an IEP is just a piece of paper. What really matters is that she receives the right support in school.

It is only if you're unhappy with the support that you need to get a bit more pedantic with the wording of the IEP

(Or if you want to apply for a statement.)