Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

Potentially looking after an Autistic child

(7 Posts)
DraculasMum Wed 31-Aug-11 22:13:39

Hi all, i have put this in AIBU but have been kindly pointed in this direction for some help.

Im just starting out childminding and have had an enquiry from a parent with a 4 year old who has been diagnosed with mild autism traits.

Can anyone tell me what i need to put in place in terms of care, equipment?

What can i expect to deal with on a daily basis?

I don't know much about the condition so if anyone can give me some personal experience?

One last question; how different are the requirements of an autistic child i.e attention, demands, care in comparison to looking after a child with no diagnosis?

beautifulgirls Wed 31-Aug-11 22:34:27