Talk

Advanced search

Here some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on SN.

2yr/6mnth ds global development delays?????

(8 Posts)
missyb1988 Wed 03-Aug-11 16:41:19

hello
Im new to mumsnet and hoping for some advice from you great people so here is my massive essay.

My son is 2 and a half, lately i have noticed he is quite behind with development and is showing irregular behaviour habits (similar to autism, which my brother is a severe autistic). I am taking him to the doctors friday to try get a referral to the hospital.

As of yet he is still unable to talk, he has no language skills what so ever although, he started saying basic words at the aprox time he had his mmr and a severe ear infection (13-14mnth). This then stopped and now he just babbles, like he is first learning to talk but never actually says anything. We have done the basic learning techniques but there doesnt seem to be any progression. So is hoping to be referred to a speech therapist for more help. He still hasnt learnt to pick up interaction properly, he doesnt often play with other children and when he does it isnt in the correct manner, more hugging and scragging at faces and hair. He is more exicted by the company of an adult rather then a child. He has thousands of toys he does play with them but most of the time not how there ment to be played with he is shown and does copy but the day after its like hes forgot . He has also got slow hand and finger skills although he can build blocks and etc, he cannot feed himself with knife and fork or control to drink out of a cup.